Can I get MS Paint to do what I need by means of AutoIt?

PPI

Hello, everybody. I am a professional in ATC (Air Traffic Control), and I have been pointed here to seek a solution for my problem.

I need to work on large series of image files, all of the same size (they are frames of the same radar recording, actually).

The operation that I need to perform on each image is quite simple, and can be carried out just with Paint.

I need to cut and save a smaller portion of image, corresponding to a region of airspace where some event occurred. The dimensions of the smaller images and their position within the source frame (larger image) are obviously unchanged within the same series: I may want to specify a size and position at the beginning of the task (as the events to be analyzed never occur in the same region of airspace, for obvious reasons), but once the task has started, each smaller image would be cut-out with the same dimensions and from the same position within the source image.

The steps are very simple:

1) input parameters (filename/path of the input series, and coordinates of the images to be cut-out)

2) open Paint

3) open the source image

4) in the Attributes, change (reduce) Width and Height to define what will be the right and lower borders of the final cut-out image

5) rotate 180°

6) again, reduce Width and Height to define what will be the left and upper borders of the final cut-out image

7) again, rotate 180° to put the image upside-up

8) save

9) increase image counter and loop from #3 until reaching end of the series

10) close Paint and exit

It is obvious that, although simple, the above described steps cannot be repeated by hand if we are speaking of 300-400 frames of radar recording... :blink:

I have been told that a relatively simple solution could be writing a script to drive Paint through the sequence of steps for the entire series.