Read html element using DOM

I am new to AutoIt, but I am making a script where I need to no the width of the statues bar.

$statusBar= $ie.document.getElementById("status").style.width

This line will find the status bar, but I don't now how to read how big the width is.

In javascript I would have wrote:  

alert(document.getElementById("status").style.width);

Btw. How do I use chrome instead of Internet Explore

$ie = ObjCreate("InternetExplorer.Application")

Thanks

The variable ($statusBar) should hold the data you want. To see it you could use the MsgBox or ConsoleWrite. Look for them in the helpfile.

MsgBox(0, "", $statusBar)
ConsoleWrite($statusBar & @CRLF)

You probably know that but just to be sure: "The width property has effect only on block-level elements or on elements with absolute or fixed position." W3Schools

Maybe .offsetWidth and .offsetHeight could also help.

If you are going to use Autoit to automate web tasks there is a IE.au3 UDF. Microsoft chose to expose a COM interface to the DOM in IE but Chrome dont. There is a plug-in for FF that exposes a COM interface (just search the forum and you will find it). There was also a plug-in for Chrome but i belive that is no longer supported (you can also find information about it searching in the forum).

16 minutes ago, MichaelHB said:

The variable ($statusBar) should hold the data you want. To see it you could use the MsgBox or ConsoleWrite. Look for them in the helpfile.

MsgBox(0, "", $statusBar)
ConsoleWrite($statusBar & @CRLF)

You probably know that but just to be sure: "The width property has effect only on block-level elements or on elements with absolute or fixed position." W3Schools

I saw it on the W3Schools the variable $statusBar didn't hold it. They use a js function called alert to get it out.

;this is html

<div class="progress_bar" style="width: 86%; border: none;"></div>
<div id="status" style="">Rolling in 26.97</div>