Search, cut and move string to different line in XML file

ceeth

Hi All,

I am new to AutoIT, but II think that it is a right tool to a job that I need to do.

I have multiple XML files, in different folders, with a structure like:

<x n="Title">""</x>
                    <x n="Label">"Random texts"</x>

Label strings are different throughout the file. The job is to find all those texts and move them into tag "Title", so they look like that:

<x n="Title">"Random texts"</x>
                    <x n="Label">""</x>

I think that the below base would be a good place to start, unfortunately the move operation is problematic.

$FileContent=FileRead($File,FileGetSize($File))
$Find=InputBox("Find and replace","What to find?","FindThisText","",500,100)
$Replace=InputBox("Find and replace","What to write instead?","ReplaceWithThisText","",500,100)
 $FileContent=StringReplace($FileContent,$Find,$Replace)
 FileDelete($File)
 FileWrite($File,$FileContent)
EndIf

Another requirement is search rule: search should look for both lines, eg.

<x n="Title">""</x>
                    <x n="Label">"

because there are line only with  <x n="Label">" that I do not want to touch because above them there is no                 <x n="Title">""</x>. This can be done with a regexp rule:

<v n="Title">""</v>\r\n^\s*<v n="Label">"

What would be the correct way of cutting and pasting a string from one line to other? I would appreciate any help as I am completely new to this stuff.

2 hours ago, ceeth said:

Hi All,

I am new to AutoIT, but II think that it is a right tool to a job that I need to do.

I have multiple XML files, in different folders, with a structure like:

<x n="Title">""</x>
                    <x n="Label">"Random texts"</x>

Label strings are different throughout the file. The job is to find all those texts and move them into tag "Title", so they look like that:

<x n="Title">"Random texts"</x>
                    <x n="Label">""</x>