Davidowicza

[SOLVED]XPath different with every instance

Hey guys,

I am creating my very first script that automates a browser (I usually work with program installs and database automation) and have come across an issue that I am totally stumped on. I need to click an element that gives me a drop down list box but the Xpath to the element changes with every instance of chrome I start...

I have tried selecting the class, rect, and path but no luck. It never finds the element. (I could be doing this wrong since I am not good at HTML)

Element I need to select:

<g class="highcharts-button highcharts-contextbutton highcharts-button-normal" style="cursor:pointer;" stroke-linecap="round" transform="translate(994,10)">

<title>Chart context menu</title>

<rect fill="#ffffff" class=" highcharts-button-box" x="0.5" y="0.5" width="24" height="22" rx="2" ry="2" stroke="none" stroke-width="1"></rect>

<path fill="#666666" d="M 6 6.5 L 20 6.5 M 6 11.5 L 20 11.5 M 6 16.5 L 20 16.5" class="highcharts-button-symbol" data-z-index="1" stroke="#666666" stroke-width="3"></path><text x="0" data-z-index="1" style="font-weight:normal;color:#333333;fill:#333333;" y="12"></text>

</g>

This is the Xpath for the last 3 instances of chrome I have run the script with:

//*[@id="highcharts-5bp9crq-8"]/svg/g[6]/g/rect

//*[@id="highcharts-fiw9szv-8"]/svg/g[6]/g/rect

//*[@id="highcharts-5szkmx8-8"]/svg/g[6]/g/rect

As you can see the path changes every time.

How I am trying to select the element:

;Check for box element
_WD_WaitElement($sSession, $_WD_LOCATOR_ByXPath, "//*[@id='highcharts-5bp9crq-8']/svg/g[6]/g")
MsgBox(0, "", "check for timeout")
$sElement = _WD_FindElement($sSession, $_WD_LOCATOR_ByXPath, "//*[@id='highcharts-5bp9crq-8']/svg/g[6]/g")
_WD_ElementAction($sSession, $sElement, 'click')

Maybe someone has come across this before and found a work around without using mouseclick()