Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
shamanu

for loops and variables

4 posts in this topic

#1 ·  Posted (edited)

Hello,

I'm trying to get some information from a structured webpage but as a C programmer I'm a bit confused about the for statement and the variable handling.

My current code:

$oIE=_IECreate("www.page.com")
$sHTML = _IEDocReadHTML ($oIE)
;search title
For $sHTML In $sHTML
    If(StringInStr($sHTML, "name")>0)Then
        $sName=$sHTML
    EndIf
Next

AutoIt should search for the next line which has a "name" string in it and save this line then to $sName.

1. How can I get only the current line out of $sHTML in the for loop?

2. How can I jump 2 lines forward in the for loop because I need the information from there and don't wan't the for loop to handle the stuff between.

Edited by shamanu

#2 ·  Posted (edited)

Well, _IEDocReadHTML doesn't return an array, so For/In doesn't have anything to cycle through.

I'm guessing you want to read 1 line at a time? Maybe try $sHTML = StringSplit(_IEDocReadHTML($oIE), @LF).

Also a potential problem: For $sHTML In $sHTML. The first $sHTML might overwrite the actual value in the second $sHTML. Use a diff $var. Ex: For $var In $sHTML

Lastly, If(StringInStr($sHTML, "name")>0)Then looks like it may be comparing a string to a number... number being 0, so maybe checking if the string is true or false? Plus, spaces look kind of off. Try If StringInStr($sHTML, "name") > 0 Then.

edit - Anyway, you'll probably want something like this...

#include <inet.au3>

$oIE = 'http://worldofwarcraft.com/realmstatus/status.xml'
$sHTML = StringSplit(_INetGetSource($oIE), @LF)

For $sVar In $sHTML
    If StringInStr($sVar, 'Light') Then
        $sNewValue = $sVar
        ConsoleWrite(@LF & $sNewValue)
    EndIf
Next

ConsoleWrite(@LF & @LF)