Help! strip a text file...

Hi guys!

I'm just getting into programming, so please be gentle!

I hope someone can point me in the right direction to do what I want, I've tried searching the forum but can't find anything similar...

Ok, I have a text file that contains lines of information I need to keep, but also lines of information I want getting rid of.

The only thing in common in the lines I want to keep is an asterix at the end of each line.

Question is, how do I tell Autoit to strip the text file of everything EXCEPT for the lines with an asterix in it.....i.e.

one *

two *

three

four *

five *

...the line with "three" in it is removed from the txt file.

I've tried lots of different functions, but can't get my head round it....like I said, not only am I an autoit newb, but also a general programming newb - I've got no chance!!!!!!!!

Also to throw another spanner into the works, eventually I'll also need to delete certain lines containing the asterix, but also containing another specified variable....i.e. specify "dog"

cat *

horse *

dog *

monkey *

zebu *

........the line with "dog" in it is deleted from the txt file.

Hope someone can help. No need to write out any script for me, just a pointer to which functions could be used to do this!!!!!

Preferably I'd like to attempt this without opening the file with FileOpen(), but if that's the only way, so be it!

Thanks in advance!!!!!