Utilizing an existing IE browser window...

cechols

First, let me apologize for being yet another AutoIt fledgling. I'm not a developer by trade, but I've been tasked by my company to create automation tools for our software. I'm a quick study, but my deadlines are closing and I need help.

Here's what I'm trying to accomplish:

1) I've developed a GUI that contains checkboxes for running 25 automation scripts. From this interface, users can check to run any or all of the available automation scripts. No problems here.

2) The automation takes place entirely inside of Internet Explorer on our company site. Because of this, the scripts have to call an IE browser window first. Doing that in itself is no problem ($oIE).

3) Since the script launcher GUI is checkbox-based, any one of the scripts could be the first script a user runs. As such, I have to put a function for opening an IE window at the beginning of each and every script.

And here is where the problem comes in. Since there are 25 scripts in my launcher, I don't want 25 instances of IE to be opened. What I do want is for each successive script to check to see if IE is already open. If it is already existing, then I want it to use the existing instance of IE for navigating.

I'll paste in the code I've been using (knowing full well that it isn't correct) for reference. As it is, the script works - it just always opens a second instance of IE, which I don't want it to do.

$objExcel = ObjCreate("excel.application")
With $objExcel
    .Visible = 0
    .WorkBooks.Open(@ScriptDir & '\Scripts\Excel Sheet 1.xls', Default, False)
    .ActiveWorkbook.Sheets(1).Select ()
EndWith

$myex = ObjGet("", "excel.application");Pull data from excel spreadsheet

If Not IsObj($myex) Then
    MsgBox(0, "Error", "Please open Excel and activate the spreadsheet you want to import")
    Exit
EndIf

$mywb = $myex.activeworkbook
$myws = $mywb.activesheet
$x = 2
$testsite = $myws.range("a" & $x).formula