Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
pete1234

Sorting start menu

5 posts in this topic

#1 ·  Posted (edited)

so this is my first post - i'm new to autoit and am still figuring things out. i'm not sure if this question is actually related to autoit, but i figure it can't hurt to ask. i'm trying to create a script that will sort the start menu by name. this is what i have so far:

RegRead("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MenuOrder","")
If @Error <> 0 THEN RegDelete("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MenuOrder")
$PID = ProcessExists("explorer.exe")
If $PID Then ProcessClose($PID)
ProcessWaitClose("explorer.exe")
ShellExecute("explorer.exe")

when i follow this process manually, everything works fine. killing explorer.exe removes the taskbar, and then starting the process again restores it and creates the new reg key, thereby sorting the start menu. now the script i've created does all this too and works, but the shellexec function restores the taskbar and also opens windows explorer. when i do it by hand windows explorer doesnt open. any ideas as to why this is happening?

fwiw, im using xp pro sp2, and ive tried this with windows explorer both running and not and with Run instead of ShellExecute.

thanks!

Edited by pete1234

#2 ·  Posted (edited)

Welcome to the AutoIt forum,

The system reserves the 1st instance of Explorer for the shell and any extra instances open "My Documents" folder if no switch is passed. On Win XP and above, Explorer will restart within a few seconds if ProcessClose() is used on it. A CLI tool like TaskKill.exe in Win XP Pro can kill Explorer without it restarting but that is something else. Your script will open "My Documents" folder by Explorer as the shell opens just prior automatically by the OS.

Checking the process after 5 seconds maybe adequate to ensure Explorer restarts OK.

; Check menu order registry key and delete