Multiple monitor change resolution

Hello, first let me say, I am an old programmer but new to Autoit. I am trying to perform a simple task in a new way. What I am trying to do is create a macro that will toggle between two states. I have a laptop and a secondary monitor. Sometimes it is attached, sometimes not. This macro should detect which situation I am in and toggle. Actually it is simpler than that. Assume that if the Secondary monitor is enabled and I am invoking the macro, I want to disable it. If it is currently disabled, I want to enable it, AND set the secondary monitor to 1680*1050 resolution.

I have done this in previous macro languages in a very cludgey way by invoking the Control Panel Display Properties dialog, and simulating a ton of keystrokes. It works most of the time.

I was hoping to get a better solution with AutoIT.

My first attempt was to do the same as before, using the dialog, but feeding the controls directly to avoid sending keystrokes. This effort was somewhat stalled, since the dialog is using a non-standard control for the Monitor Display (Monitor32). Also, I am not sure how to access the sliders, and other control fields since they are not something I created with GUICreate. I think I can use some of the CtrlxXXX functions but I help up on that when I saw that there might be a way to just do it programmatically using WinEnumDisplaySettings, and WinChangeDisplaySettings.

But I am struggling with that a little too. I know if I spend enough time, rewriting the UDF functions, I probably could get the ChangeDisplaySetting function to work with the multiple monitors, but I was hoping not to have to re-invent the wheel if possible.

So, short story long, anybody got something to do this already, or at least what pitfalls I should avoid.

Oh, and this AutoIT stuff is a blast!!!!

Bob Chernow

Edited by bobchernow