Question about programming/scripting languages

I've been using AutoIT for about 3 years now and absolutely love it. Next to a little little bit of QBasic experience, I have no experience programming whatsoever. I started using AutoIT3 to create simple scripts to automate certain procedures with windows maintenance and after that mostly for writing helpful scripts for playing poker (Table alignment, bet pot scripts, etc.). I learned AutoIT solely by reading the helpfile and with help from the (truly awesome) forum. I'm not an AutoIT expert at all, but I am at a point I can manage myself pretty well using AutoIT (no experience with COM, API, DLL's at all though).

About a month ago I got an idea for a poker analysis program which I want to develop. I however doubt if AutoIT is suitable for creating a project intended for public release (commercial or freeware; depends on the endresult). Could you guys comment on this?

From my former scripts I remember they worked like a charm on my system, but when a friend of mine tried to use it on their system they often would be buggy. This is likely to be the result of bad coding though.

The program I want to create has to work with PostgreSQL and be able to read/write and visualize data from a database. Much like a tracker program like Holdemmanager or Poker Tracker 3 (for those of you who are familiar with these). Although I'm making something different, functionality like those tracker programs are close to what I need to create. A GUI will also be necessary but I guess every language supports GUI's.

I don't know anything at all about other programming languages. I don't even now the difference between .NET framework, VB.Net, ASP.NET (if it even exists), Java, C++, C#. So if AutoIT isn't suitable, what language would you guys recommend for what I want to do and why? The awesome thing about AutoIT in my opinion is it's extensive Help file and the awesome support on the forum, which allowed me to learn to work with it.