Can function exist in separate file?

cag8f

Hi all. I'm an amateur coder who is playing around with AutoIt for the first time. 2 questions, the first simple, the second more involved:

1. Is there a way for a function to exist on its own as a separate file? I'd then like to be able to call that function with parameters.

2. I'm trying to do this to test a rather complicated program (complicated for me at least). I'd obviously like to test my program as I keep adding to it. However testing it requires changing a handful of lines of code each time. To efficiently test my program, I thought of changing it to a function. Then I could call the function with a test parameter, which would tell the function to use certain lines of code for testing. Does that make sense? I'm sure people who code for a living have much better testing/QA methods. If anyone has the time, I'd really love to hear them.

Thanks in advance!

• Moderators

cag8f,

Two ways to do what you want:

- 1. Use #include to get the "function" file into your main script. The content of the file will be incorporated into your main script at the point where you have the #include line - so make sure all the required variables are declared beforehand. If you do this, passing parameters is as easy as it is for any other function and getting return values is simple. :D

- 2. Keep the file as a separate entity and run it from within your main script. In this case you would have to pass your parameters as part of the invocation command line within the main script:

Run(@ScriptFullPath & " /AutoIt3ExecuteScript Function_file.au3 param1 param2 ...")

You would then use the special $CmdLine array to determine what the parameters are - details are in the Help file under <Using AutoIt - Command Line Parameters>. However, getting any return values back to the main script is more tricky - there are lots of threads on inter-script communication to help, though. :graduated: