Absolute Beginners

Here is a little tutorial I decided to make. (yes another tutorial)

It is intended for people with absolutely no knowledge of programming/scripting at all.

It also assumes you do not know how to use autoit3 help file.

What it does assume, is that you have installed autoit3 and scite4autoit which can be found here

Autoit

>au31.jpg

Scite4autoit

sci1.jpg

The most important thing to know, is how to navigate and use the helpfile

Please do not underestimate how valuable this resource is.

By default the help file is located in your myprograms or myprogramsx86 of you OS drive in the folder AutoIt3

It looks like this with the ? on it, click it

chm1.jpg

Once the helpfile loads you will see essentially two panels, the one on the left is about navigation

The one on the right is about information, and for now, just focus on the index tab and click it

to see something like this in the left panel

chm2.jpg

Notice it says "Type in the keyword to find", this is where we can find what we are looking for.

For example, if I want to find a string function, or browse all the string functions, I simply

type "string" into the field below the prompt, and it navigates automatically to the items in the

index, like so.

chm3.jpg

If you highlight one of the items in the list and hit enter, or double click on an item, it will bring up

information about that item in the right side panel, like so.

chm4.jpg

Above I clicked on the String function and it shows me everything i need to know about that function.

Firstly, it tells me in essence what it does. "Returns the string representation of an expression."

Secondly, it shows me how to enter the function into scite editor "String ( expression )"

In the scope of this post, the expession here is the paramater we pass to the function for processing.

A paramater is any variable or literal we put inside the braces of a function.