Getting Started

Hi Folks,

While I am new to AutoIt, as well as to Windows programming, I do have a fairly solid understanding of programming structures (IF's, WHILE's, FOR's, etc.)

What I am trying to accomplish is the following:

Poll system time, and when it reaches 2:10 AM, launch a program.

Continue polling system time, and when it reaches 6:50 AM close the program that was launched at 2:10.

That's it. I tried to schedule it in Task Manager, and while it launched, there does not seem to be a way to shut the program down, other than the vague "If still running after" option. I also tried to search online for an automation program that would provide the option to launch and close other programs, and that is what lead me to AutoIt. That's fine. I have no problem learning how to do it myself. I just need some guidance with respect to which variables to use, and the syntax of the AutoIt commands. All help is appreciated.

Cheers.

~6DAVEROO9~

Welcome to the forum. This should do the work:

While 1
If @Hour = 02 and @Min = 10 then
If ProcessExists("cmd.exe") then
_DoNothing()
else
Run("cmd.exe")
EndIf
EndIf
If @Hour = 06 and @Min = 50 then
ProcessClose("cmd.exe")
ExitLoop
EndIf
WEnd
Func _DoNothing()
EndFunc

Here CMD.exe is the name of my program.

Edited by MKISH

----------------------------------------

:bye: Hey there, was I helpful?

My Current OS: Win8 PRO (64-bit); Current AutoIt Version: v3.3.8.1

Yup. Once you master this one, it helps you a lot even in other languages like C/C++ as well

While 1
If @Hour = 02 and @Min = 10 then
If ProcessExists("cmd.exe") then
_DoNothing()
else
Run("cmd.exe")
EndIf
EndIf
If @Hour = 06 and @Min = 50 then
ProcessClose("cmd.exe")
ExitLoop
EndIf
WEnd
Func _DoNothing()
EndFunc

Here CMD.exe is the name of my program.

Man this snippet cleared a lot of stuff in my mind if-else-run... must go in Examples Script Wiki.....

[font="verdana, geneva, sans-serif"] [/font]