If statements

l270ucas

Hello I am new to the programming field. What I am trying to make is just a simple little program that allows you to figure out the are of three different shapes. I think I have to many if statements and the program cannot compute them. Could someone please help me figure this out.

Lets say i program it for the circle and run it and it works, but when i go to put in the second shape like a square it will not run properly.

I also didnt know how to embed script here so i attached the file.

Thanks for any help,

lucas

Areas of shapes defined.au3

• Moderators

l270ucas,

Welcome to the AutoIt forum. :)

You need to put the various statements into a logical sequence so the computer knows in what order to run them. Here is a modified version of your script which shows how you might structure the code so that the logic flow is correct:

Global $shape
$shape = InputBox("Area", "Which shape would you like to know the equation for? Circle , Square , or Triangle ")

If $shape = "Circle" Then
   $circle = MsgBox(4, "Area of a Circle", "Area of a circle is A=3.14*r^2. Would you like to find the area of a cirle?")
   If $circle = 6 Then
       $circleradius = InputBox("Area of a circle", "Enter the length of the radius.")
       $circlearea = ($circleradius * $circleradius) * 3.14
       MsgBox(0, "Area of a circle", "The area of the circle is, " & $circlearea)
    EndIf
EndIf

If $shape = "Square" Then
   $square = MsgBox(4, "Area of a square", "The area a square is A=l*w or A=l^2. Would you like to find the area of a square?")
   ; You can do this part ;)
EndIf

If $square = 6 Then
   $squareside = InputBox("Area of a square", "Enter the length of one side,")
   ; And this part too :)
EndIf
Please ask if anything is unclear. :)

M23

Public_Domain.png.2d871819fcb9957cf44f4514551a2935.png Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind

Open spoiler to see my UDFs:

Spoiler