Sign in to follow this  
SirJohann

Hungarian Notation

SirJohann

¡Hi! Well, this is just a little question. ¿Do you think Hungarian Notation is a good idea? I mean, I'm a really indecisive programmer, and sometimes this makes me hard to choose stuff like a name for a function, even the most easy thing. So, personal opinion, and pros vs cons of Hungarian Notation, what do you think?

¿And what about this "http://www.autoitscript.com/wiki/Best_coding_practices#Scopes_of_Variables"?

Codes codes codes.

Mat

There are two different variants on Hungarian notation. Google it.

As long as you can safely determine what the variable should be used for from the name, it's fine.

For example if I had a variable called countFoo, I can be pretty sure it's an integer, referring to how a many foos have been counted.

Sometimes the type isn't all that relevant, for example with control ids, using $iOk wouldn't make sense. Some people use $cOk, but the best option would be $btnOk, as you know from the latter a lot more about what the variable means.

In a language like autoit, where we use variants, naming variables properly can make code a lot easier to maintain, by yourself and others.

If you see code like $iBar = "hello" alarm bells are ringing and it doesn't look right. Same with passing arguments to functions.

That's why it's a good habit to get into.

czardas

There's lots of info you can include in a name if it is fit for the purpose. I am currently working on a project where notating container size helps to differentiate many similar variants. I have $sHex12 (range 000-FFF) and $sHex24 (range 000000-FFFFFF). I have function names like:

_Hex24ToHex12 $sHex24)

_Hex12ToBin12($sHex12)

_Bin24ToHex12($sBin24 )
  _IdentifyHex12($sHex12)

I couldn't cope with the variety of variants I created if I didn't do something like this.

SirJohann