Help to translators - read active editctrl in ANY sw

Hi,

I am a translator.

I have a long list of (technical) words which substitute for "simple-looking" everyday words.

I would like to write a script which reads out the text which I'm typing and suggest words from the list (from file) based on the words it reads out.

The problem is that I want to make it universal because I use more softwares normally. In one minute I translate in InDesign, then jump to Illustrator, then to Word and maybe to Notepad. (I know I have a crazy environment, but client wants it this way unfortunatelly!!) I also do translation in Framemaker, Powerpoint, Excel, etc...

Is it possible to periodically read out my typed text from virtually ANY EDITCTRL-like gui window?

Different programs give very different titles for their edit windows and Excel translation is not even typed in a window, but in a "cell".

Maybe something to with the processlist command?

As a start I tried with Mozilla Mail Compose window (Send new letter) with no luck of reading out the text even after excessive use of Window Info Tool.

Thanks for any direction you might give.

Edited by Ármányos Kő

It might be best to use the ClipGet and ClipPut clipboard functions. Then it really will work with any application. Assign a translate hotkey, and have it maybe detect the current application, send Ctrl-A (select all in most apps), send Ctrl-C (copy in hopefully all apps) and then do clipget.

Good luck with your project.

[font="Fixedsys"][list][*]All of my AutoIt Example Scripts[*]http://saneasylum.com[/list][/font]

It might be best to use the ClipGet and ClipPut clipboard functions. Then it really will work with any application. Assign a translate hotkey, and have it maybe detect the current application, send Ctrl-A (select all in most apps), send Ctrl-C (copy in hopefully all apps) and then do clipget.

Good luck with your project.

Yeah, yeah, but.