trying to learn GUIRegisterMsg

so im just starting out looking properly at windows messages & reading the MSDN, but already questions ;)

#include <GUIConstantsEx.au3>
#include <WindowsConstants.au3>
GUIRegisterMsg($WM_CLOSE, "MY_WM_CLOSE")
GUIRegisterMsg($WM_MOUSEMOVE, "MY_WM_MOUSEMOVE")
GUICreate("test",200,200)

GUISetState()

While 1
    $msg=GUIGetMsg()
    Switch $msg
        case $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE
        GUIDelete()
    EndSwitch
WEnd

func MY_WM_CLOSE()
MsgBox(0, "", "WM_CLOSE")   

EndFunc

func MY_WM_MOUSEMOVE()
MsgBox(0, "", "WM_MOUSEMOVE")   

EndFunc

firstly i was hoping that by registering WM's it would capture messages from all windows not just the GUI im using but in the case of GUIRegisterMsg($WM_MOUSEMOVE, "MY_WM_MOUSEMOVE") i found that it only triggers when the mouse moves over the gui i made? how would i capture messages from outside my GUI?

and also why can't i get WM_CLOSE to work at all?

originally was looking to capture notification if any windows window was closed and this is why i started looking more into registering windows messages so how to do this would be great to ^_^

Thx all,Jack Dinn.

JD's Auto Internet Speed Tester

JD's Clip Catch (With Screen Shot Helper)

Projects :- AutoIt - My projects

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features. :-D

• Moderators

1. When using GUIRegisterMsg(), the function to receive the data must have 4 parameters. Hwnd, Msg, Wparam, Lparam. If you look at any examples on the forum or the help file you'll see this.

2. To interact or capture other window messages other than ones you have ownership of, you must hook that window. Look for SetWindowsHookEx in the forum search (I'd search Examples Forum ^_^ )

3. You have a lot of learning to do to understand these types of hooks/message registering, in order to properly translate the messages you receive.

Edited by SmOke_N