Sign in to follow this  
ihudson

How do I add variables to a sqlite SELECT statement?

ihudson

I'm just learning sqlite3 forgive me if my concepts are not right, anyway I'm trying to add two variables to a SELECT statement:

The variables would be $start and $end that the user would choose from a Combobox. The database holds 1 table (Distances) that has the distances between two locations ($start and $end).

In the code that follows (if possible) how can I place $start where "Midlothian MS" is and $end where "School Board" is in the Select statement? I've tried several types of concatenation but no joy.

Here is the schema:

CREATE TABLE fulldata (id integer primary key autoincrement, Start text,End text

,Distance integer);

_SQLite_Startup()
ConsoleWrite("_SQLite_LibVersion=" & _SQLite_LibVersion() & @CRLF)
_SQLite_Open('distance.db') ; open Database
_SQLite_QuerySingleRow(-1, "SELECT distance FROM fulldata WHERE Start = 'Midlothian MS' AND End = 'School Board';", $aRow)

_SQLite_Close()
_SQLite_Shutdown()
While 1
$nMsg = GUIGetMsg()
Switch $nMsg
Case $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE
Exit
Case $Button1
MsgBox(0, "The distance is:",$aRow[0])
Case $Button2
_ArrayToClip($aRow, 0) ;send result to clipboard

EndSwitch
WEnd

Thanks for your help,

ihudson

kylomas

ihudson,

Something like this should work

_SQLite_QuerySingleRow(-1, "SELECT distance FROM fulldata WHERE Start = '" & $start & "' AND End = '" & $end & "';", $aRow)

kylomas

Forum Rules         Procedure for posting code

"I like pigs.  Dogs look up to us.  Cats look down on us.  Pigs treat us as equals."

- Sir Winston Churchill

jchd

Safer version:

_SQLite_QuerySingleRow(-1, "SELECT distance FROM fulldata WHERE Start = " & _SQLite_FastEscape($start) & " AND End = " & _SQLite_FastEscape($end) & ";", $aRow)
Edited by jchd

This wonderful site allows debugging and testing regular expressions (many flavors available). An absolute must have in your bookmarks.