Theory craft. Making my OWN OCR how to start out?

OCR = Optical Character Reading

Hello all, I am theory crafting here for now and all help is appreciated

First of all I would like to remind everyone that i am not a skilled programmer and I am even a slow and poor learner. so if you explain me something please make sure I can understand, I would really be thankful for that.

1. I have a program that allowed browse through a digital online brochure / stock and It always used to work perfectly with pixelchecksum() conversion to database and I got what I wanted

but things have changed negatively for me.

They Have changed the look of the digital brochure.

1. They have made fonts more transparent

2.  They have made the font much much smaller often letters are 7pixels high and 5 pixels width

for example the letter Afflicted looks like this;  keep in mind that this is 1600% increased   this image is originally 84x9 pix which is very small

f52d58329449836.jpg

3. They have added a pesky background which messes my autoit Pixelchecksum beyond useable

So my while project / Program is halted to a stop and I already spend more then 1000 hrs in it I have to change my program

I have done some decent analyzing on the screenshots / digital brochure and came to a conclusion that there is always enough RGB Difference between my font and background

So it seems I need to proper filter it, Train it ( i do not mind spending lotsa time into it)

My goal is to able to read text as quick as possible , therefor I am looking into my own personal lightweight OCR

I would like it to able to read a page of 50 items of lets say average of 30/35 words each line

and my goal is to achieve this under 500MS  but i would not weep if it would take 1000 ms

speed is very important to me,

What would be best approach?

making / creating a seperate .DLL or Exe for OCR

and if I make a seperate exe or .DLL how does it transfer the information instantly between .exe (or is that impossible)