Echo effect the microphone

Belini

You can create an echo effect the microphone using Autoit? If the answer is yes what is the code I use?

@DanYfirex, unfortunately the code that has the link you posted are in C ++ and I have no knowledge in this language.

Many soundcards have echo-type effects built into them. If you don't have that, then the easiest way would be to use third party (sound recording or sound effects) software of some kind - most likely a professional program which allows live monitoring. I don't think Audacity can do this. The problem requires quite a lot of preprocessing, plus you will need to avoid latency on playback of the engineered audio which I think this is your biggest problem. If it was a simple case of recording the sound and then playing it back in a delayed loop, this would be much easier.

Edited by czardas

@czardas, record sound and then play in a loop with atrasso until it would work but will record often causing wear on the hard disk, it seems that what I want is much more complex than I imagined!

Yes I believe it is complicated. You have to playback the sound before the recording has finished. It should be possible to cut the the recording into chunks, rejoin sections for streaming and delete spent sections after playback. All of this should probably be done in memory, and would be like creating a virtual simulation of the old analog copycat echo units which used a tape loop to do the same job. I wouldn't quite know where to begin.

On the other hand, adding an echo effect to a pre-recorded audio file is quite easy - also with AutoIt.

Edited by czardas

I need real-time more thanks for clarifying, I will choose to use an external hardware then!

As long as the source speaker is not the same speaker as the echo speaker, and both are equally audible to the audience, you could...