To AutoIt or not?

twixt

I am wanting to automate a task at work, and trying to decide whether to use AutoIt or something like VB or python.  I am very new at this and looking to learn a bit, but fear this task would overwhelm me if i went straight to creating the code in VB, python, C++, etc, due to having to interact with many existing programs and such.

I have been digging in the help contents of AutoIt and browsing the forums and seem to have hit a snag over my head.  Since I wanted each button to handle various tasks and other programs, I figured I would use Opt("GUIOnEventMode", 1).  However I ran into this thread  https://www.autoitscript.com/wiki/Interrupting_a_running_function  and realized if any of my defined functions fail for whatever reason, the whole thing will have a hard time recovering.  Also I could not seem to find how to have one button(function) set checkboxes when complete without letting the user accidentally interact with them....

I looking for a single GUI to

1. open and control programs like PuTTY, (or equivalent) Octave,  the clipboard, Paint, A custom python.exe to listen to a port.

2. create file directories using input folder names,  move files from the temp directory the python.exe created to the created directories, copy plot generated from octave to the clipboard to paste in paint and add a text header.

3. somehow display progress

Should I even bother doing this in AutoIT or bite the bullet and go to python?

Thanks for your time

DYCAL.png

Dycal 2.png

• Moderators

@InunoTaishou, the OP is just learning AutoIt, and your suggestion is to have him try and make a leap to assembly?! :huh2:

"Profanity is the last vestige of the feeble mind. For the man who cannot express himself forcibly through intellect must do so through shock and awe" - Spencer W. Kimball

How to get your question answered on this forum!

Hi. I am not a developer or programmer, but use AutoIt in my office to do quite a lot of automation.