11 posts in this topic

Sounds good, thanks.

I am not a lawyer.  (-_-) Xandy About

Nice, ive been thinking of doing something like this for a long time

TeenyScript 2016-09-05 - A new  way of programming in AutoIt

UDFs created\updated 2016
_IEEmbedded2 UDF - A _IECreateEmbedded() decedent
miniSQL - A simple Standalone PDO-syntax-like MySQL-library with AutoitObject
Advanced DllCall and DllStruct AutoIt Code Generator - Automatically generates code for DllCall and more.

11 hours ago, argumentum said:

why Func _ReduceMemory() ?.
I believe it'd be better without it.

Thanks for sharing.

Is far as I know it compres the used memory.

Why do you believe it's better without it?

1 person likes this

2 hours ago, nend said:

Why do you believe it's better without it?

I don't remember very clearly the discussion here in the forums, but I remember it was useless. Try a compiled script with it and without it. You'll find that is not needed. Try for yourself.

2 people like this

It's not needed because it actually makes your script much slower with a large amount of data. What this function does is takes the memory used by the program and dumps it to disk in the page file. Reading data from a file is many times slower than reading the same data from memory. Also, having more free memory means that all the money you spent on that 16Gbs of memory was a waste, because you're not actually using it. This was a useless holdover from the XP days, and wasn't even needed back then either.

2 people like this

If I posted any code, assume that code was written using the latest release version unless stated otherwise. Also, if it doesn't work on XP I can't help with that because I don't have access to XP, and I'm not going to.
Give a programmer the correct code and he can do his work for a day. Teach a programmer to debug and he can do his work for a lifetime - by Chirag Gude
How to ask questions the smart way!