Hey

I have posted before about looping scripts and exit loops but now it is something different.

Take into consideration I am a beginner so do not get angry if you think my ways are 'stupid'

OK I have a script where the user inputs some numbers

before (stupidly) I have tried

(FAILED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

$input = inputbox("input", "how many times to repeat?", "")
$set = "1"
while 1
$set = $set +1
if $set = $input then exitloop
else
  ;do stuff
endif
wend

this is an example

$number = inputbox("Beep", "how many times should it repeat?", "")
;repeat $number of times
       beep(500, 500)
wend

please if you could help.

Edited by Scriptmaster

shutdown(1)

Try this:

While $number ;repeat $number of times
    beep(500, 500)
    $number -= 1
wend

OR

For $I = 1 to  $number ;repeat $number of times
    beep(500, 500)
Next
Edited by BrewManNH

If I posted any code, assume that code was written using the latest release version unless stated otherwise. Also, if it doesn't work on XP I can't help with that because I don't have access to XP, and I'm not going to.
Give a programmer the correct code and he can do his work for a day. Teach a programmer to debug and he can do his work for a lifetime - by Chirag Gude
How to ask questions the smart way!

I hereby grant any person the right to use any code I post, that I am the original author of, on the autoitscript.com forums, unless I've specifically stated otherwise in the code or the thread post. If you do use my code all I ask, as a courtesy, is to make note of where you got it from.