OldNoob

Help with DLLCALL - Kernel32.dll

11 posts in this topic

#1 ·  Posted

I'm attempting to call the winapi function EnumSystemFirmwareTables using DllCall "Kernel32.dll" without success. I am a total noob when it comes to this and could use some direction. Based on the documentation "Dealing with Dlls in AutoIt" by Andreas Karlsson, I have tried using the following code to obtain the buffersize of the Firmware Table Buffer.

Thanks in advance for any help

#include <WinAPI.au3>

MsgBox(0, "ESFT BufferSize", "BufferSize = " & _EnumSystemFirmwareTables())

Func _EnumSystemFirmwareTables()
    $aRet = DllCall ("Kernel32.dll", "UINT", "EnumSystemFirmwareTables", "DWORD", "ACPI", "PVOID" ,Null , "DWORD" ,Null)
    if @error Then
        MsgBox (0,"Error","An error ocurred with the DLLCALL, error returned = " & @error &@CRLF & "GetLastError =  " & _WinAPI_GetLastError ( ),0)
        Exit
    else
    Return $aRet
    endif
EndFunc

#2 ·  Posted

Hello. You need to convert the str to dword. and get the requiered size before get the firewaretable dword array.

Saludos

#3 ·  Posted

Thanks for the response I am still not understanding though. The following is from Microsoft's documentation

UINT WINAPI EnumSystemFirmwareTables(
  _In_  DWORD FirmwareTableProviderSignature,
  _Out_ PVOID pFirmwareTableBuffer,
  _In_  DWORD BufferSize
);

Parameters

FirmwareTableProviderSignature [in]

The identifier of the firmware table provider to which the query is to be directed. This parameter can be one of the following values.

Value Meaning
'ACPI' The ACPI firmware table provider.
'FIRM' The raw firmware table provider. Not supported for UEFI systems; use 'RSMB' instead.
'RSMB' The raw SMBIOS firmware table provider.

pFirmwareTableBuffer [out]

A pointer to a buffer that receives the list of firmware tables. If this parameter is NULL, the return value is the required buffer size.

Can you elaborate more on what 'str' I need to first convert?

Thanks

#4 ·  Posted (edited)