ModemJunki

Check if Win10 system is LEGACY or UEFI installed

So there was a topic on the General Help and Support board where the poster mentioned it was not easy to check if the system was installed with UEFI or legacy mode and it got me looking down a rabbit hole. Apparently you can't just whip up a simple WMI query to find that out.

But I did find that you can read the output of bcdedit.exe to check if the system is using winload.efi or winload.exe, so then I got stuck because bcdedit doesn't play nice with StdoutRead. Finally I discovered that toggling Wow64DisableWow64FsRedirection would make it all work together.

I hope this helps someone. Maybe it can be simplified, I'm no expert. 🤨

DllCall("kernel32.dll", "int", "Wow64DisableWow64FsRedirection", "int", 1)
$aArray = StringSplit(_getDOSOutput("bcdedit.exe"), @CRLF)
DllCall("kernel32.dll", "int", "Wow64DisableWow64FsRedirection", "int", 0)

For $i = 1 To UBound($aArray) - 1
    Select
        Case StringInStr($aArray[$i], 'Windows Boot Loader') And StringInStr($aArray[$i + 3], 'device partition=C:') And StringInStr($aArray[$i + 4], 'winload.efi')
            ConsoleWrite("UEFI mode" & @CRLF)
        Case StringInStr($aArray[$i], 'Windows Boot Loader') And StringInStr($aArray[$i + 3], 'device partition=C:') And StringInStr($aArray[$i + 4], 'winload.exe')
            ConsoleWrite("Legacy BIOS" & @CRLF)
    EndSelect
Next

Func _getDOSOutput($command, $wd = '') ; https://www.autoitscript.com/forum/topic/190249-get-result-of-shellexecute/
    Local $text = '', $Pid = Run('"' & @ComSpec & '" /c ' & $command, $wd, @SW_HIDE, 2 + 4)
    While 1
        $text &= StdoutRead($Pid, False, False)
        If @error Then ExitLoop
        Sleep(10)
    WEnd
    Return StringStripWS($text, 7)
EndFunc   ;==>_getDOSOutput

Always carry a towel.

Just a heads up, this will fail if the system partition drive letter is not C (it can be changed by the user)

A cross-platform implementation of the AutoIt language