nitekram Posted November 30, 2006 Posted November 30, 2006 I assume that it is a normal file with no attributes set? Why would I have so many with ONLY 'N' and not all with 'A'. Here is part of my script $attrib = FileGetAttrib($dsoFile) ConsoleWrite("Attributes = " & $attrib & @CRLF) If StringInStr($attrib, "H") or StringInStr($attrib, "N") Then Select Case StringInStr($attrib, "H") FileSetAttrib($dsoFile, "-H+A") ConsoleWrite("Attributes Changed = " & $attrib & @CRLF) Case StringInStr($attrib, "N") FileSetAttrib($dsoFile, "+A") ConsoleWrite("Attributes = " & $attrib & @CRLF) Case Else EndSelect EndIf When I run this - it never changes the NORMAL to ARCHIVED - am I doing something wrong? 2¢ All by me:"Sometimes you have to go back to where you started, to get to where you want to go." "Everybody catches up with everyone, eventually" "As you teach others, you are really teaching yourself." From my dad "Do not worry about yesterday, as the only thing that you can control is tomorrow." WIKI | Tabs; | Arrays; | Strings | Wiki Arrays | How to ask a Question | Forum Search | FAQ | Tutorials | Original FAQ | ONLINE HELP | UDF's Wiki | AutoIt PDF AutoIt Snippets | Multple Guis | Interrupting a running function | Another Send StringRegExp | StringRegExp Help | RegEXTester | REG TUTOR | Reg TUTOT 2 AutoItSetOption | Macros | AutoIt Snippets | Wrapper | Autoit Docs SCITE | SciteJump | BB | MyTopics | Programming | UDFs | AutoIt 123 | UDFs Form | UDF Learning to script | Tutorials | Documentation | IE.AU3 | Games? | FreeSoftware | Path_Online | Core Language Programming Tips Excel Changes ControlHover.UDF GDI_Plus Draw_On_Screen GDI Basics GDI_More_Basics GDI Rotate GDI Graph GDI CheckExistingItems GDI Trajectory Replace $ghGDIPDll with $__g_hGDIPDll DLL 101? Array via Object GDI Swimlane GDI Plus French 101 Site GDI Examples UEZ GDI Basic Clock GDI Detection Ternary operator
Moderators SmOke_N Posted November 30, 2006 Moderators Posted November 30, 2006 FileSetAttrib($dsoFile, "-N+A") Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer.
nitekram Posted November 30, 2006 Author Posted November 30, 2006 FileSetAttrib($dsoFile, "-N+A")Thanks - that should do it - not testing yet, but added it to the code from above? I think the below code is more of the issue - if I can get it to work, or I have found the file that got me on the hidden attribute issue from the code above? I am using ObjCreate() and have created function for ERRORS - $HexNumber=hex($oMyError.number,8) - it catches the error and displays the error $HexNumber = 80020009 $oMyError.windescription = Access is denied. I am trying to move it and rename it - filemove(), as I think that is what causing my script to quit. I am able to move the file if I use this one line of code FileMove("C:\test\IndividualForm1.doc", "c:\mydir\bak.doc",8) But when I use it in my script it creates a directory but never moves the file - what could be hanging this up? Any questions that I can answer - will have to wait until I get home - about 6 EST. 2¢ All by me:"Sometimes you have to go back to where you started, to get to where you want to go." "Everybody catches up with everyone, eventually" "As you teach others, you are really teaching yourself." From my dad "Do not worry about yesterday, as the only thing that you can control is tomorrow." WIKI | Tabs; | Arrays; | Strings | Wiki Arrays | How to ask a Question | Forum Search | FAQ | Tutorials | Original FAQ | ONLINE HELP | UDF's Wiki | AutoIt PDF AutoIt Snippets | Multple Guis | Interrupting a running function | Another Send StringRegExp | StringRegExp Help | RegEXTester | REG TUTOR | Reg TUTOT 2 AutoItSetOption | Macros | AutoIt Snippets | Wrapper | Autoit Docs SCITE | SciteJump | BB | MyTopics | Programming | UDFs | AutoIt 123 | UDFs Form | UDF Learning to script | Tutorials | Documentation | IE.AU3 | Games? | FreeSoftware | Path_Online | Core Language Programming Tips Excel Changes ControlHover.UDF GDI_Plus Draw_On_Screen GDI Basics GDI_More_Basics GDI Rotate GDI Graph GDI CheckExistingItems GDI Trajectory Replace $ghGDIPDll with $__g_hGDIPDll DLL 101? Array via Object GDI Swimlane GDI Plus French 101 Site GDI Examples UEZ GDI Basic Clock GDI Detection Ternary operator
nitekram Posted November 30, 2006 Author Posted November 30, 2006 bump Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? 2¢ All by me:"Sometimes you have to go back to where you started, to get to where you want to go." "Everybody catches up with everyone, eventually" "As you teach others, you are really teaching yourself." From my dad "Do not worry about yesterday, as the only thing that you can control is tomorrow." WIKI | Tabs; | Arrays; | Strings | Wiki Arrays | How to ask a Question | Forum Search | FAQ | Tutorials | Original FAQ | ONLINE HELP | UDF's Wiki | AutoIt PDF AutoIt Snippets | Multple Guis | Interrupting a running function | Another Send StringRegExp | StringRegExp Help | RegEXTester | REG TUTOR | Reg TUTOT 2 AutoItSetOption | Macros | AutoIt Snippets | Wrapper | Autoit Docs SCITE | SciteJump | BB | MyTopics | Programming | UDFs | AutoIt 123 | UDFs Form | UDF Learning to script | Tutorials | Documentation | IE.AU3 | Games? | FreeSoftware | Path_Online | Core Language Programming Tips Excel Changes ControlHover.UDF GDI_Plus Draw_On_Screen GDI Basics GDI_More_Basics GDI Rotate GDI Graph GDI CheckExistingItems GDI Trajectory Replace $ghGDIPDll with $__g_hGDIPDll DLL 101? Array via Object GDI Swimlane GDI Plus French 101 Site GDI Examples UEZ GDI Basic Clock GDI Detection Ternary operator
Joon Posted November 30, 2006 Posted November 30, 2006 Try with FileCopy. If it works, I think the program has problem deleting file. how typical file move works is it copies the file then delete the source. If it's unable to delete the source, it delete the target and fail.
Moderators SmOke_N Posted November 30, 2006 Moderators Posted November 30, 2006 But when I use it in my script it creates a directory but never moves the file - what could be hanging this up?Do you have the file open by anything before you try to move it? Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer.
nitekram Posted December 1, 2006 Author Posted December 1, 2006 Do you have the file open by anything before you try to move it?Damb - I wish I would have thought of that, before asking for more help. That appears to have done the trick - I will still have to check it at work but it did past my test that I had tried before and had failed with out the closing of the object.Let me ask you another question that will save me some time - if I close the object, is it just closing that instance or is it closing the object completelyl - and that would mean that I would have to reopen it, right? 2¢ All by me:"Sometimes you have to go back to where you started, to get to where you want to go." "Everybody catches up with everyone, eventually" "As you teach others, you are really teaching yourself." From my dad "Do not worry about yesterday, as the only thing that you can control is tomorrow." WIKI | Tabs; | Arrays; | Strings | Wiki Arrays | How to ask a Question | Forum Search | FAQ | Tutorials | Original FAQ | ONLINE HELP | UDF's Wiki | AutoIt PDF AutoIt Snippets | Multple Guis | Interrupting a running function | Another Send StringRegExp | StringRegExp Help | RegEXTester | REG TUTOR | Reg TUTOT 2 AutoItSetOption | Macros | AutoIt Snippets | Wrapper | Autoit Docs SCITE | SciteJump | BB | MyTopics | Programming | UDFs | AutoIt 123 | UDFs Form | UDF Learning to script | Tutorials | Documentation | IE.AU3 | Games? | FreeSoftware | Path_Online | Core Language Programming Tips Excel Changes ControlHover.UDF GDI_Plus Draw_On_Screen GDI Basics GDI_More_Basics GDI Rotate GDI Graph GDI CheckExistingItems GDI Trajectory Replace $ghGDIPDll with $__g_hGDIPDll DLL 101? Array via Object GDI Swimlane GDI Plus French 101 Site GDI Examples UEZ GDI Basic Clock GDI Detection Ternary operator
Moderators SmOke_N Posted December 1, 2006 Moderators Posted December 1, 2006 Damb - I wish I would have thought of that, before asking for more help. That appears to have done the trick - I will still have to check it at work but it did past my test that I had tried before and had failed with out the closing of the object.Let me ask you another question that will save me some time - if I close the object, is it just closing that instance or is it closing the object completelyl - and that would mean that I would have to reopen it, right?Makes sense to me, as I would assume it would appear as a different file. Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer.
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now