Motion detecting webcam?

nimaid

I want to make a program that will take a picture from my webcam, than take another and compare them. If there are any differences, than play a user defined sound and save the pic to a user defined directory. I am a newb and only know the basics so if you could help me with not only methods but possibly code snippets it would be greatly appreciated!

This statement is a lie.˙uʍop-ǝpısdn sı ǝuo sıɥʇ ʇnq 'ǝıl ɐ ǝq ʎɐɯ ʇuǝɯǝʇɐʇs snoıʌǝɹd ǝɥʇ¡6u15nɟu0) ʎ||43ɹ 51 51ɥ7

I want to make a program that will take a picture from my webcam, than take another and compare them. If there are any differences, than play a user defined sound and save the pic to a user defined directory. I am a newb and only know the basics so if you could help me with not only methods but possibly code snippets it would be greatly appreciated!

its really dificult, because the noise of the cam, i think, i can't make 2 same pictures with the webcam, the noise other, and other on every picture, so its really hard to make, i think

Unfortunately I don't have a web cam so I can't really write/test any code, but I have an idea that might help. I think a solution could be to compair groups of pixels, located in the area you expect to see movement. If a percentage change in pixel colour occurs, then trigger an alarm. I'm guessing a bit, but I think you could set the sensitivity by changing the percentage and hopefully this will be able to differentiate between real movement and noise.

i found (and played with) a very efficient flash motion detection app, the AS2 version got quite good speeds and with the right settings you can detect just the movement of eyes (blur: 2, minArea:2, everythingElse: 0, flip: false):

http://blog.soulwire.co.uk/download/as3-motion-tracking