Sign in to follow this  
clariceo0

Free library for resetting windows password?

clariceo0

Recently, I am interested to build a windows app to reset Windows login password as a side off project. I am still a newbie in programming so i am not able to build the app from scratch. Is there any open source  project i could learn from on this?

JLogan3o13

Hi, @clariceo0, welcome to the forum. A couple of questions to help us help you:

• Are you looking to change the password from within the machine itself or remotely?
  • Are you doing this on domain computers, or just local users on local PCs?
  • Are you wanting to allow users to do this themselves (something sitting on the desktop they can click on), and if so do they have administrative rights to do so?

The more info you can provide us with, the better we can assist you, so we're not throwing out suggestions that may not work for your situation.

√-1 2^3 ∑ π, and it was delicious!

How to get your question answered on this forum!

clariceo0
12 hours ago, JLogan3o13 said:

Hi, @clariceo0, welcome to the forum. A couple of questions to help us help you:

• Are you looking to change the password from within the machine itself or remotely?
  • Are you doing this on domain computers, or just local users on local PCs?
  • Are you wanting to allow users to do this themselves (something sitting on the desktop they can click on), and if so do they have administrative rights to do so?

The more info you can provide us with, the better we can assist you, so we're not throwing out suggestions that may not work for your situation.

thanks for the great suggestion. I just want to change or reset the password of local account. I will write a GUI client for this to help normal users without much technical knowledge.

JLogan3o13