Selecting Value In Combo Box

lmg

I am a newbie trying to select a value in a combo box in an established application. My code is as follows.

ControlClick( "Export event", "","TComboBox1" , "main",1)

$ret=ControlCommand ( "Export event", "", "TComboBox1", "FindString", 'Competitors' )

ControlCommand ( "Export event", "", "TComboBox1", "SetCurrentSelection", $ret )

However, no matter what I put in as my string I get a $ret value of 1 and I do not change the combo box value. Am I even close to being on the right track? What more do I need to do? I wasn't sure if my string should have single or double quotes but tried both - same result. Btw, I am using the control name rather than control ID as the controlID seems to change every time I bring up the application.

• Moderators

I am a newbie trying to select a value in a combo box in an established application. My code is as follows.

ControlClick( "Export event", "","TComboBox1" , "main",1)

$ret=ControlCommand ( "Export event", "", "TComboBox1", "FindString", 'Competitors' )

ControlCommand ( "Export event", "", "TComboBox1", "SetCurrentSelection", $ret )

However, no matter what I put in as my string I get a $ret value of 1 and I do not change the combo box value. Am I even close to being on the right track? What more do I need to do? I wasn't sure if my string should have single or double quotes but tried both - same result. Btw, I am using the control name rather than control ID as the controlID seems to change every time I bring up the application.

It' returning how many times it sees the 'occurence' of the 'string' your looking for. So in that combo box it has 'Competitors' 1 time.

On your 'SetCurrentSelecition' are you trying to select 'Competitors'?

You could do:

If ControlCommand('Export event', '', 'TComboBox1', 'FindString', 'Competitors') <> 0 Then
    ControlCommand('Export event', '', 'TComboBox1', 'SetCurrentSelection', 'Competitors')
EndIf