Script Pauses when IE Popup Opens

Hi. I have been using autoit for about eight months doing data entry and web scraping using my vendors website. I am in the medical industry and we do a lot of data entry. I have successfully navigated around almost all of their website using autoit and COM. There are pages on this site where data entry has to be entered through a pop up window. When the pop up window opens my script actually pauses and will resume after the window closes. My problem is trying to manipulate the pop up window. If I manually open the popup window, and then run the script, I can access the window and manipulate the data. If i write a script that opens the window, this will not work as the script pauses and will not resume until the window is closed. I have attempted setting up two seperate files, where the first file automatically opens the pop up window, and the second script is linked to a hotkey that would automate the data entry. This does not work either.

I contacted the programmers of my software vendor and they told me they use using window.showModalDialog() to open the pop up window.

When I researched the code i got http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ie/ms536759(v=vs.85).aspx this link.

I found this line in the above reference. "A modal dialog box retains the input focus while open. The user cannot switch windows until the dialog box is closed." The wierd thing is that manually I can click on other windows and copy and paste into the dialog box/pop up window but the script won't let me do this. As I am not a programmer and I was wondering if anyone had any advice about this.

Edited by GoldenMike

only solution i can think of is to launch another process of an autoit script that detects the modal window and enteres the data with ControlSend Methods

Edited by qsek