terro

WORD (sentence words counter and selection)

4 posts in this topic

Hi,

I discoverd autoit,;) I'm not a programmer and I get stuck understanding the way word.au manage the sentences in Word 2010.

1) I need to start setting the cursor at the beginning of the Word document.

Then use a kind of loop on the entire document

select the first sentence with 6 words display a message "OK" (the only way I found is unelegant key sequence F8+ F8+F8.:sweating:)

then get and select the next sentence with six words and display "OK".

2) how to remove the "double or triple carriage return" in the same document

Here my piece of code

#include <MsgBoxConstants.au3>
#include <Word.au3>

; Create application object
Local $oRange, $oWord = _Word_Create(),$oRangeFound, $oRangeText
If @error Then Exit MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Word UDF: _Word_DocRangeSet Example", _
        "Error creating a new Word application object." & @CRLF & "@error = " & @error & ", @extended = " & @extended)
; Open the test document
Local $oDoc = _Word_DocOpen($oWord, @ScriptDir & "\Extras\Test.docx", Default, Default, True)
If @error Then Exit MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Word UDF: _Word_DocRangeSet Example", _
        "Error opening '.\Extras\Test.docx'." & @CRLF & "@error = " & @error & ", @extended = " & @extended)

For $I = 1 To 235 Step 1 ; sentence counter
 $oRange = _Word_DocRangeSet($oDoc, -1, $wdParagraph, $I, Default,0)
        "Error setting/expanding range." & @CRLF & "@error = " & @error & ", @extended = " & @extended)
$oRange.Select

Send("{F8}")                ;X3 (F8) allows to select a sentence
Send("{F8}")
Send("{F8}")
sleep(400)                    ; MsgBox(0, "", "OK")
Send("{ESCAPE}")     ; free the sentence selection
Send("^{DOWN}")       ; get to the next sentence

Next

Thank you for your help.

Scene 1 in the example script in the help file for function _Word_DocRangeSet should show you how to get statistics.

My UDFs and Tutorials:

Spoiler

UDFs: