File Register using AutoIt

Before I say anything, I have read the FAQ and have been trying my best to use what is in the FAQ to Register a file type with notepad, but I can't seem to pull it off.

I have been racking my brain over this for several hours now. I know I am not a good programmer, I have only taken a few basic classes (which were many years ago) and when I compare the programs I have been making for my job (to automate our 6 month updates), to many in these forums, I'm a simple drooling baby in comparison. I have done well so far to pull everything off for our 200+ computers but this part has me stumped and pulling my hair out. I need a program make a file extension register with notepad so that when someone were to click on the "example.cfg" file it would open up in notepad. If someone could honestly help me out here with this, I would be very grateful.

I will post what I currently have, and I am very sure I have plenty of errors within it, but if i could get any amount of help with this, again, I would be very grateful.

#include "FileRegister.au3"
;================================================
;
; Description: FileRegister($ext, $cmd, $verb [, $def [, $icon = "" [, $desc = "" ]]])
;     Registers a file type in Explorer
;
; Parameter(s): $ext -  File Extension without period eg. "zip"
;  $cmd -  Program path with arguments eg. '"C:\test\testprog.exe" "%1"'
;    (%1 is 1st argument, %2 is 2nd, etc.)
;  $verb - Name of action to perform on file
;    eg. "Open with ProgramName" or "Extract Files"
;  $def -  Action is the default action for this filetype
;    (1 for true 0 for false)
;    If the file is not already associated, this will be the default.
;  $icon - Default icon for filetype including resource # if needed
;    eg. "C:\test\testprog.exe,0" or "C:\test\filetype.ico"
;  $desc - File Description eg. "Zip File" or "ProgramName Document"
;
;================================================