Sign in to follow this  
Nacht

Continually updating MsgBox?

Nacht

Hi, I'm new to AutoIt (and to scripting in general).

So I've been looking for a way to make a window show up and keep showing varying values while up; I can't seen to find anything in the help menu of with the search. An example of this would be a script that calculates my ping to some server. I tell the script how many times to ping, but I would like for it to show me the current ping on a persistent window. Or maybe a window showing "Working" or "Running".

I tried putting it in a while loop but the loops stops until I hit OK. Is there such a feature?

Also, while I'm here, can someone tell me why AutoIt crashes when I put in the commented-out code?

$sum=0
$i=0
$err=0
$max=0
$min=100000000
$x=inputbox("Count","How many times should I count?","10")
$max=number($x)
while $i<$max
    $var = Ping("PVP.net")
    If $var Then; also possible:  If @error = 0 Then ...
        $sum=$sum+$var
        $i=$i+1
        #comments-start
        if $var>$max Then ;way of finding the max
            $max=$var
        EndIf
        if $var<$min Then ;way of finding the min
            $min=$var
        EndIf   
        #comments-end   

Else
        $err=$err+1;count the errors

EndIf

WEnd
$result=$sum/$i
msgbox(0,"Result","Count= " & $i & @LF & "The average was: " & $result & @LF & "and there were " & $err & " errors.")

Whenever I put the comments in, AutoIt starts but never finishes. When I leave the comment out, it works fine.

PS: Also, I know that I can do this much easier with a Batch file (I have) but I want to learn AutoIt for future reference. Also, AutoIt does the pinging much faster.

Thanks!

Edited by Nacht

Paulie

If you want to display a value that changes as it changes, a MsgBox is not the way to go. Opening a messagebox pauses the execution of the script until the box times out or is closed.

Consider using the Tooltip() function, or designing a GUI.

Edited by Paulie

wakillon