Thomymaster Posted November 21, 2014 Share Posted November 21, 2014 (edited) Hi I have a document which consists of a table with 1000 rows (articles) and 12 columns (data for each article). I need to extract (for every article, but i can do this in a loop) the first line of the 5th column (the text goes over multiple lines in the column), and i cant get it to work Here is what i have so far (the $oWordDoc object already exists): $oCell=$oWordDoc.Tables(1).Cell(5,3).Select $oRange=_Word_DocRangeSet($oCell,-1,$wdLine,1,$wdLine,1) Local $oSelection=$oRange.Select $sData=$oSelection.Value MsgBox(0,"",$sData) But i am always getting this error: "R:\AutoIT\word-integration.au3" (390) : ==> Variable must be of type "Object".: Local $oSelection=$oRange.Select Local $oSelection=$oRange^ ERROR What am i doing wrong? Best, Thomas Edited November 21, 2014 by Thomymaster Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted November 21, 2014 Moderators Share Posted November 21, 2014 (edited) Look at the return values for _Word_DocRangeSet It doesn't return an object, but you're treating it as if it does. Edit: Weird, I see the return value for success says "1", but in the example it's used as an object. My apologies for my ignorance on this subject. Edited November 21, 2014 by SmOke_N Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 21, 2014 Share Posted November 21, 2014 Seems to be a documentation bug. I will test tomorrow and post the result. My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bowmore Posted November 21, 2014 Share Posted November 21, 2014 Try using $oSelection=$oRange.Select() instead of $oSelection=$oRange.Select AutoIt likes object methods to have () "Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to build bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning."- Rick Cook Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomymaster Posted November 22, 2014 Author Share Posted November 22, 2014 It is still returning the same error Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted November 22, 2014 Moderators Share Posted November 22, 2014 It's incredibly difficult to debug your issue without working code (working as something we can run on our side). One thing is for sure, you need to debug your code. If Not IsObj($oRange) Then As an example. It's obvious where it fails at the moment, but try and run this and see if $oCell fails: $oCell=$oWordDoc.Tables(1).Cell(5,3).Select If NOt IsObj($oCell) Then MsgBox(16 + 262144, "Error", "$oCell is not an object!") Exit EndIf $oRange=_Word_DocRangeSet($oCell,-1,$wdLine,1,$wdLine,1) If Not IsObj($oRange) Then ; we know it fails here MsgBox(16 + 262144, "Error", "$oRange is not an object!") Exit EndIf Local $oSelection=$oRange.Select $sData = $oSelection.Value MsgBox(0,"",$sData) Otherwise, you'll need to provide step by step what you want to do (because we don't know what $wdLine is as an example), and provide a document we can test with that fails for you. Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 22, 2014 Share Posted November 22, 2014 What is the value of @error and @extended after $oRange=_Word_DocRangeSet($oCell,-1,$wdLine,1,$wdLine,1) My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 22, 2014 Share Posted November 22, 2014 This works fine here. Test.docx has a single table with 3 rows and 3 columns: #include <Word.au3> Global $sDocument = @ScriptDir & "\Test.docx" Global $oWord = _Word_Create() Global $oDoc = _Word_DocOpen($oWord, $sDocument) Global $oRow = $oDoc.Tables(1).Cell(1, 1).Row ; Get the whole row Global $sText = $oRow.ConvertToText(0).Text ; Convert the table row to text. Separator: 0 = Paragraph markers, 1 = tab, 2 = comma, 3 = default list separator, $oDoc.Undo(1) ; Undo the ConvertToText function so the table remains unchanged in the document MsgBox(0, "", $sText) My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 23, 2014 Share Posted November 23, 2014 Seems to be a documentation bug. I will test tomorrow and post the result. Fixed the docu My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomymaster Posted November 23, 2014 Author Share Posted November 23, 2014 Hi OK here is what i wanted to do: #include <Word.au3> $g_sDocument="O:\Test.docx" Local $oTable , $oRange, $oCell Local $sData="" Local $oWord=_Word_Create() Local $oWordDoc=_Word_DocOpen($oWord,$g_sDocument,False,$WdOpenFormatAuto,True) ; open read-only ; VBA statement is "table.Cell(count, Column_from).Select" $oCell=$oWordDoc.Tables(1).Cell(3,3).Select() $oCell=$oTable.Cell(5,3).Select $oRange=_Word_DocRangeSet($oCell,-1,$wdLine,1,$wdLine,1) ;$oRange = _Word_DocRangeSet($oDoc, -1, $wdParagraph, 1, Default, 2) Local $oSelection=$oRange.Select $sData=$oSelection.Value MsgBox(0,"",$sData) _Word_Quit($oWord) Exit Like i said i want to (later in a loop) get the first line of text of each row in the 3rd column, so for the first row it would be: "Große Guanyin in Blanc-de-Chine Porzellan, China " The error message is: "R:\AutoIT\test.au3" (12) : ==> Variable must be of type "Object".: $oCell=$oWordDoc.Tables(1).Cell(3,3).Select() $oCell=$oWordDoc^ ERROR ->23:23:33 AutoIt3.exe ended.rc:1 Test.docx Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted November 24, 2014 Moderators Share Posted November 24, 2014 (edited) Not sure how you'd assume when the line ends, I'll leave that up to you to figure, but this worked. #include <Word.au3> Global $gsz_File = "C:\Temp\Test.docx" Global $go_Word = _Word_Create() If @error Then Exit 110 Global $go_WDoc = _Word_DocAttach($go_Word, $gsz_File) If @error Then $go_WDoc = _Word_DocOpen($go_Word, $gsz_File, Default, Default, True) If @error Then Exit @error EndIf $gsz_Text = $go_WDoc.Tables(1).Rows(1).Cells(3).Range.Text MsgBox(64, "Info Text", _ StringRegExpReplace($gsz_Text, "^(?si)(.+?)(\s*\d+\.\s*Jh\.\s*.+?)\z", "$1")) _Word_DocClose($go_WDoc) _Word_Quit($go_Word) _Word_DocTableRead(); kept failing for me with no extended data. ;line 486 of word.au3 Local $oRange = $vTable.ConvertToText($sSeparator, False) Edited November 24, 2014 by SmOke_N Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 _Word_DocTableRead only works on tables, not on ranges. I might change this in the future if needed. My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomymaster Posted November 24, 2014 Author Share Posted November 24, 2014 Hi @water this would be great I'll try SmOke_Ns solution right now The original VBA i wanted to get ported was (here "count" stands for every row and "Column_from" is "3") table.Cell(count, Column_from).Select Set rng = ActiveDocument.Range(Selection.Start, Selection.Bookmarks("\line").End) rng.Select Selection.Copy t = Selection.Text Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 (edited) Have you tried to read the whole table using _Word_DocTableRead into an array and then process the cells you need? Might be easier and even faster. Edited November 24, 2014 by water My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted November 24, 2014 Moderators Share Posted November 24, 2014 _Word_DocTableRead only works on tables, not on ranges. I might change this in the future if needed. I'm pretty sure I knew the difference . I only used the range.text when doctableread failed at where I said. Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 24, 2014 Share Posted November 24, 2014 (edited) _Word_DocTableRead(); kept failing for me with no extended data. I checked the code and noticed: It's a bug! Will soon be fixed. Edit: Fixed in SVN When you add #include <Debug.au3> _DebugSetup() _DebugCOMError() to your script you will get more detailed (and correct) error information. Edited November 24, 2014 by water My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomymaster Posted November 25, 2014 Author Share Posted November 25, 2014 (edited) @water The prolem is that i wanted to get the first line in the cell, not until the first @CR (for this, i could use _Word_DocTableRead() and then process each column of the array). And this is not possible with _WordDocTabelRead() So if you would change the function to work on ranges as well, then it'll maybe work However then i still doesn't know how to write this statement in AutoIT: Set rng = ActiveDocument.Range(Selection.Start, Selection.Bookmarks("\line").End) Where a range object is returned which i can use for the updated _WordDocTableRead() Edited November 25, 2014 by Thomymaster Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
water Posted November 25, 2014 Share Posted November 25, 2014 _Word_DocTableRead preserves line feeds in cells. The following code assumes that cell 1 in row 2 consists of multiple lines. They are split at @CR and the resulting array is being displayed. #include <Array.au3> #include <MsgBoxConstants.au3> #include <StringConstants.au3> #include <Word.au3> Global $sDocument = @ScriptDir & "\Test.docx" ; Create application object Local $oWord = _Word_Create() If @error Then Exit MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Word", "Error creating a new Word application object." & @CRLF & "@error = " & @error & ", @extended = " & @extended) ; Open the test document Local $oDoc = _Word_DocOpen($oWord, $sDocument, Default, Default, True) If @error Then Exit MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Word", "Error opening '" & $sDocument & "'." & @CRLF & "@error = " & @error & ", @extended = " & @extended) Local $asResult = _Word_DocTableRead($oDoc, 1, 0) If @error Then Exit MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Word", "Error reading the table to an array." & @CRLF & "@error = " & @error & ", @extended = " & @extended) Local $aLine = StringSplit($asResult[0][0], @CR, $STR_CHRSPLIT ) _ArrayDisplay($aLine) My UDFs and Tutorials: Spoiler UDFs: Active Directory (NEW 2024-07-28 - Version 1.6.3.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki ExcelChart (2017-07-21 - Version 0.4.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts OutlookEX (2021-11-16 - Version 1.7.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki OutlookEX_GUI (2021-04-13 - Version 1.4.0.0) - Download Outlook Tools (2019-07-22 - Version 0.6.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki PowerPoint (2021-08-31 - Version 1.5.0.0) - Download - General Help & Support - Example Scripts - Wiki Task Scheduler (2022-07-28 - Version 1.6.0.1) - Download - General Help & Support - Wiki Standard UDFs: Excel - Example Scripts - Wiki Word - Wiki Tutorials: ADO - Wiki WebDriver - Wiki Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomymaster Posted November 28, 2014 Author Share Posted November 28, 2014 Thanks a lot I managed to solve this in the same way, i first read everything via _Word_DocTableRead() and then later update the value in the third cell with the text until the first @CR in this cell for all rows Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now