Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BigAl

multiple If FileExisit FileDelete loop

7 posts in this topic

Hi Appologies if this has been answered before, I've have searched the forum but cant seem to find what I need. I'm am writing a script for decommissioning PC's at work, which requires varies different aspects, I run eraser on some folders to delete sensitive data, remove some directories which will always be present but I have a number of files that may or may not be present, scattered around the machine. I originally did this a large number of IF statements, which work's but is not the best so a friend suggested doing it in a loop but i'm not having much luck with it, I'm quite new to scripting and dont have any real experience apart from some VERY basic batch files. I have 12 files which may or may not be present, if 1 of the 12 files isn't present I would like it to carry on to the next file and delete it if it is there and so on through all the files. I've put a snippet of script below, which when i try and run i get an error "Until" statement with no matching "Do" statement.: Until $i = 12 Could anybody point me in the right direction for how to achieve this

Local $i = 0 ;set $i as an interger
Local $1 = ( $allusersprofile & "\Desktop\xxxxx.lnk" ) ;file 1 to delete
Local $2 = ( $public & "\Desktop\xxxxx.lnk" ) ;file 2 to delete
local $3 = ( "C:\xxxxxx.flg" ) ;file 3 to delete

Do 
   If FileExists ( $i + 1 Then )
          FileDelete ( $i + 1 )
    $i = $i + 1
 Until $i = 12

Look at Arrays in the AutoIt help file and wiki first, as currently you're trying evaluate a variable in the wrong manner.

Local $aFiles[4] = [3, _
    'FILEPATH_1', _
    'FILEPATH_2', _
    'FILEPATH_3']

For $i = 1 To $aFiles[0]
    If FileExists($aFiles[$i]) Then FileDelete($aFiles[$i])
Next