datguydev

I broke my install while playing with AutoIt; I think :X

datguydev

Greetings,
  Recently, I've decided to pick up AutoIt and it's been really a fun language to learn. My last script was to simply backup my broswer's bookmarks for safe keeping while learning a bit how files can be manipulated. Heavy use of system and env. variables. However, something that I did with the script below, broke all of MMC (task scheduler, Event viewer, etc.) functionality on my Windows 7 x64 install. 
  I'm new around here, but not to computing or programming. I'm an IT undergrad and I'm proficient with other scripting languages such as Python, Bash. Known to dabble in Java and PHP. I went through and tested every solution available for this MMC issue and nothing fixed it. It took a week, because it would take me 6 hours of backing up to migrate to a new install. Eventually, I had to submit as I use those tools on the daily. 
  Really important, I can't confirm the script below broke it. But given the time frame of what actions occurred before and after making the script and when the issue popped up. I'd say it's extremely likely the culprit. The commands that are in the script are the only that were used. I didn't set or delete env. variables. Worth noting the script was more complicated and 'proper.' Had to remove a bunch of functions to find I mispelled a directory  But same content.

I'm really hesitant to run this script or attempt another. Just throwing it out there to see if anyone can pick up on what could have caused the MCC issue. 

Best regards,
             dev

Global $booksDir = @UserProfileDir & "\Dropbox\Safe\Bookmarks\"
Global $chromeDir = FileExists(@LocalAppDataDir & "\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Bookmarks")
Global $firefoxDir = FileExists(@AppDataDir & "\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\7hx26jbg.default\places.sqlite")
Global $operaDir = FileExists(@AppDataDir & "\Opera Software\Opera Stable\Bookmarks")
Global $logDir = FileExists(@ScriptDir & "\log.txt")