Problems with WinWait

I've been using AutoIt for some time now (started with AutoIt 2.x), but this is my first post. The problem I'm having is with the WinWait() function. I've read older posts with people complaining that it won't recognize windows properly (returns a 0 even though the window is present) and some chalked it up to an Adlib problem which supposedly is fixed in recent versions (running 3.3.6.1). But it is STILL a problem that I'm experiencing - it simply seems to be a rather unreliable function. It seems I have to go through heroic measures just to detect the pesky window that WinWait() simply can't see. Other functions can see it just fine (ie. WinGetText(), WinMove(), etc). I'm by no means an advanced coder, but I know when something isn't working.

Here's my code that won't detect a particular window:

$wincheck= WinWait ("Exercise Pro V5 ", "",  4)
MsgBox (0, "test'", $wincheck) ; for troubleshooting
If $wincheck= 0 Then
  MsgBox (0, "Installer Error", "Installation couldn't be completed." & @CRLF & "Please try again after other installs are finished." & @CRLF & "Cancelling...")
  WinWait  ("BioEx Software", "Click the Finish button")
  WinActivate ("BioEx Software", "Click the Finish button")
  WinWaitActive ("BioEx Software", "Click the Finish button")
  SendKeepActive ("BioEx Software", "Click the Finish button")
  Sleep (100)
  Send ("!f")
  WinWaitClose ("BioEx Software", "Click the Finish button")
  Exit
EndIf

...versus if I do this it works just fine:

For $i = 1 to 6
$checktext = WinGetText ("Exercise Pro V5")
$checktest = StringInStr ($checktext, "Please wait while Windows configures Exercise")

If $checktest <> 0 Then ; Success - Correct window exists
  ExitLoop
EndIf

Sleep (1000)

if $checktest = 0 And $i = 6 Then
  MsgBox (0, "Installer Error", "Installation couldn't be completed." & @CRLF & "Please try again after other installs are finished." & @CRLF & "Cancelling...")
  WinWait  ("BioEx Software", "Click the Finish button")