First post, please bear with me: Problem with loops

Greetings AutoIT coders!

I recently started playing with AutoIT and I've been doing pretty good, but I've ran into an issue with loops.

I have a global variable call $runStatus that can either be "run" or "no".

I have a button that sets the variable to "run" and calls a function in another script file if the current status of the variable is "no", and if it's already "run" it sets it to "no".

The script has a While $runStatus = "run"

scriptstuff

Wend

The script starts as expected when I click the button, but I can't get it to register the button click to change the variable while it's running, nor will it exit without help from ctrl-alt-delete.

You are reading in the button 'clicks' outside of your loop, so your loop will run indefinatly once initiated.  You need to logically break out of the loop, or there are ways to assign adlib funcitons to your control clicks.

I think it's:

GUIRegisterMsg
Edited by jdelaney
IEbyXPATH-Grab IE DOM objects by XPATH IEscriptRecord-Makings of an IE script recorder ExcelFromXML-Create Excel docs without excel installed GetAllWindowControls-Output all control data on a given window.

Why not use boolean e.g. 0 or 1 (False/True) instead of a string?

Local $iCount = 0
Local $fRunning = True
While $fRunning
    ; Do something
    If $iCount = 1000 Then $fRunning = False ; If the variable $iCount is 1000 then set $fRunning to False.
    $iCount += 1; Increase count by 1.
WEnd

UDF List: