How can I confirm TCPStartUp has started?

Hello, I'm trying my hand at a simple TCP server and client but I have a bit of a worry! I create a simple GUI to return the error code following the TCPStartUp command and its returning an error! I have tried using some example TCP Scripts too which don't seem to work properly. 

Would someone mind having a look at my code below and tell me if the TCPStartUp should be working? Should it be returning errorcode 1? 

And should my text steps be TCP Listen > TCP Accept > TCP Recieve?

I'm a bit of a noob so any help would be hugely appreciated :)

#include <ButtonConstants.au3>
#include <EditConstants.au3>
#include <GUIConstantsEx.au3>
#include <WindowsConstants.au3>

Opt('GUIonEventMode', 1)

$GUI = GUICreate("S.M.I Server", 472, 311, 751, 312)
$Content = GUICtrlCreateEdit("", 8, 8, 313, 289, BitOR($GUI_SS_DEFAULT_EDIT,$ES_READONLY))

GUICtrlSetData($Content, "Content")

IF @error == 1 Then
    GUICtrlSetData($content, "TCP Services started with: " & @Error)
    GUICtrlSetData($content, "TCP Services failed with error: " & @error)

While 1
        GUISetOnEvent($GUI_EVENT_CLOSE, "quit", $GUI)

Func quit()
    GUICtrlSetData($content, "TCP Shut Down: " & @error)

TcpStartup() will return 1 if the service started and 0 if not. You can use @error macro in case the function call failed to start tcp service to see wherethe problem is.

When the words fail... music speaks

try this:

; == Start the TCP service.

Func Example()
    Local $vTCP = TCPStartup() ; Start the TCP service.
    If $vTCP = 1 Then
        MsgBox(64, "", $vTCP)
EndFunc   ;==>Example

Edited by 232showtime

ill get to that... i still need to learn and understand a lot of codes graduated.gif

Correct answer, learn to walk before you take on that marathon.

try this:

; == Start the TCP service.

Func Example()
    Local $vTCP = TCPStartup() ; Start the TCP service.
    If $vTCP = 1 Then
        MsgBox(64, "", $vTCP)
EndFunc   ;==>Example