nooneclose

[SOLVED] How to tell Autoit that "A" is different than "a"

I am sure you guys know of a simple solution but I am still kind of new to AutoIt and its special functions. I want my code to be able to know how to encrypt and decrypt "A" and "a" as two different chars.

my code is very long so here is just a snippet/example of it.  

;Encode==
Global $charAA   = "" ; ( Capital letter A )   = Global 184 = ¸    ( Cedilla )
           $charAA   = $charAA & Chr(65)           
Global $chara    = "" ; ( Lowercase letter a ) = Global 251 = û    ( û Latin Small Letter U With Circumflex )
           $chara    = $chara & Chr(97)

;Decode==  
Global $ch184 = ""          ;( Copyright symbol ) = $charAA
           $ch184 = $ch184 & Chr(184)          
Global $ch251 = ""          ;( û Latin Small Letter U With Circumflex ) = $chara
           $ch251 = $ch251 & Chr(251)

;Encode==          
stringreplace($test_String, $charAA, $ch184)
stringreplace($test_String, $chara,  $ch251)

;Decode==
stringreplace($$new_String, $ch184, $charAA)
stringreplace($$new_String, $ch251, $chara)

NOTE: my stringreplace function is nested in my actual code. I only separated them here for readability. )

I know there are better ways to Encrypt and Decrypt a message but I'm doing this as a fun side project for me and a select group of friends to enjoy. 

Again My code is not encrypting or decrypting capitals and lower case properly even though I use their ANSI codes. 

Example: Input "A a B b"  Encrypt: ". . $ $"  Decrypt: "A A B B"

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.  

Edited by nooneclose

You should set StringReplace's optional parameter casesense=1 (default=0: case-insensitive), see Help

@RTFC Thank you for replying to my post in a timely manner. Can you show me an example of how that might look in a nested stringreplace function? 

stringreplace(stringreplace(stringreplace($test_String, $charAA, $ch184), $chara,  $ch251), $charBB, $char195, $STR_CASESENSE = 1)