How to ease debugging and maintenance of big projects...?

Hi,

Background:
I'm new to AutoIt, and I've recently taken over the maintenance of an AutoIt script, running 100% console mode. The original developer is no longer available for assistance. :-(
The script is about 24000 lines of code, distributed in about 100 files.
I briefly tried to use SciTE, but being used to Eclipse and other editors, I didn't find it useful. Instead I ended up with a combination of Total Commander (for function lookup) and NotePad++

Versions:
AU3Check (3.3.12.0)
Aut2Exe (3.3.12.0)
Au3Stripper (14.801.1932.0)

Stats:
Au3Stripper v14.801.1932.0 finished merging 24071 lines of code, stripped 11002 comment lines and Merged 2642 Continuation lines.

Problem:
When  executing the compiled script (with command line parameters from the windows command Prompt), and after running for 5 minutes I sometimes (not always) get an Array overflow error (I don't remember the exact wording), the offending line is stated to be in line 9525. I'm then attempting to use "Au3Stripper /MergeOnly ScriptName.au3", (which will generate an error that Scriptname.au3 is an "Invalid Au3Stripper option" and allow me to select the same Scriptname.au3, which then completes as it should.) to generate the expected ScriptName_stripped.au3 file.
Looking at ScriptName_stripped.au3 line 9525 and the surrounding 100+ lines it's very evident that they can't be causing the problem as there are absolutely no arrays used in that code - there are usage of global enum values, but the same enum values have been used before.

I'm now wondering:

1. Are the Au3Stripper really performing exactly the same actions as the Aut2Exe? (I would feel better is it was possible to generate the stripped version with the Aut2Exe tool)
  2. What actions can I take to ease debugging this?
  3. In general, what recommendations do you have to ease maintenance of this project?  (I'm thinking better tools, so suggestions are welcome.)