JohnOne

about WMI

9 posts in this topic

I've read a while back that some people try not to use WMI in their scripts because some computers don't have it or have to run it manually.

Is that a relic from the win9x FAT OS's?

Would it be safe to assume that all post XP machines have WMI capabilities?

AutoIt Absolute Beginners    Require a serial    Pause Script    Video Tutorials by Morthawt   ipify 

Monkey's are, like, natures humans.

#2 ·  Posted (edited)

Sometimes WMI is not started.

Just use this Code to restart WMI:

$oWMI = ObjGet("winmgmts:\\" & @ComputerName & "\root\CIMV2")
        If @error Then
            RunWait(@ComSpec & ' /c net start winmgmt  ', '', @SW_HIDE)
            RunWait(@ComSpec & ' /c net continue winmgmt  ', '', @SW_HIDE)
        EndIf

like I have done it in my _SingleScript() UDF.

Edited by Exit
2 people like this

My UDFs, Abbrevs and Snippets
If you like my post, just click the like button :) 

I remember that some time ago (maybe two years ago) I had a problem on Win7 such that WMI did not work and then I had to repair Windows.
I did not know about it:

If @error Then
            RunWait(@ComSpec & ' /c net start winmgmt  ', '', @SW_HIDE)
            RunWait(@ComSpec & ' /c net continue winmgmt  ', '', @SW_HIDE)
        EndIf

So I can not say if it was the same case.

But thanks @Exit it should be useful.

1 person likes this

Signature beginning:   Wondering who uses AutoIT and what it can be used for ?
* GHAPI UDF - modest begining - comunication with GitHub REST API *
ADO.au3 UDF     POP3.au3 UDF     XML.au3 UDF    How to use IE.au3  UDF with  AutoIt v3.3.14.x  for other useful stuff click the following button

Spoiler

Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind.